Who We Are

NSF’s NOIRLab is the preeminent US national center for ground-based, nighttime optical and infrared astronomy. The mission of NOIRLab is to enable breakthrough discoveries in astrophysics by developing and operating state-of-the-art ground-based observatories and providing data products and services for a diverse and inclusive community.

The TMT International Observatory LLC (TIO) is a non-profit organization established in May 2014 to carry out the construction and operation phases of the TMT Project. The Members of TIO are Caltech, the University of California, the National Institutes of Natural Sciences of Japan, the National Astronomical Observatories of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, the Department of Science and Technology of India, and the National Research Council (Canada). The Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy (AURA) is a TIO Associate. Major funding has been provided by the Gordon & Betty Moore Foundation.

GMTO Corporation carries out the development and operation of the Giant Magellan Telescope facility on behalf of a consortium of academic and research institutions: Arizona State University, Astronomy Australia Ltd., Australian National University, Carnegie Institution for Science, FAPESP - The São Paulo Research Foundation, Harvard University, Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute, Smithsonian Institution, Texas A&M University, The University of Texas at Austin, The University of Arizona, and The University of Chicago.

 

Contacts

NSF’s NOIRLab
Sidney Wolff Program Director sidney.wolff@noirlab.edu
Mark Dickinson Program Scientist mark.dickinson@noirlab.edu
Lars Lindberg Christensen Director, Communications, Education & Engagement (CEE) lars.christensen@noirlab.edu
 
Giant Magellan Telescope (GMT)
Rebecca Bernstein Project Scientist rbernstein@gmto.org
Ryan Kallabis Director of Communications rkallabis@gmto.org
 
Thirty Meter Telescope (TMT)
Christophe Dumas Observatory Scientist cdumas@tmt.org
Scott Ishikawa TMT Communications media@tmt.org
 

US ELT Program Advisory Committee


Updated: 7 June 2021