Tucson, Arizona, March 11-13, 2015*

To be held at the Marriott University Park

Workshop presentations have been posted and are available by following the links on the Program page.

This workshop will bring together those with experience in obtaining, reducing, and analyzing DECam data—both from the Dark Energy Survey (DES) and the community—with those who would like to use DECam to take their own data or do science with publicly available DES and community images from the NOAO Science Archive. The meeting will provide an opportunity to showcase early DECam science and serve as a forum to discuss the steps NOAO could take to better support community science programs. Topics will include:

  1. DECam performance and optimum observing strategies
  2. Pipeline reduction and archives - getting the most from the data
  3. DECam science from DES and the community
  4. What can NOAO do to better support community science programs: what are the successes and what are the problems, what could be improved at the telescope and in the community pipeline, what new observing modes should be considered.

*Wednesday March 11 will be a transition day between the “Tools for Astronomical Big Data” (morning) and “DECam Community Science Workshop” (afternoon) workshops. Participants registered for either workshop may attend morning and afternoon sessions that day; or you can register for both at a discounted rate.

Scientific Organizing Committee:

  • Alistair Walker (Chair, NOAO)
  • Josh Frieman (FNAL)
  • Eric Mamajek (Rochester)
  • Kathy Vivas (NOAO)
  • Chris Smith (NOAO)

Local Organizing Committee:

  • David James (NOAO)
  • Steve Heathcote (NOAO)
  • Alfredo Zenteno (NOAO)
  • Catherine Kaleida (NOAO)
  • Knut Olsen (NOAO)
  • Abi Saha (NOAO)
  • Shelley Weintraub (NOAO)

Invited Speakers

  • Lori Allen (NOAO)
  • Gary Bernstein (U. Penn)
  • Arjun Dey (NOAO)
  • Mark Dickinson (NOAO)
  • Francisco Forster (U de Chile)
  • Josh Frieman (FNAL)
  • Robert Gruendl (U. Illinois)
  • David James (NOAO)
  • Knut Olsen (NOAO)
  • Abi Saha (NOAO)
  • Sarah Sonnett (JPL)
  • Frank Valdes (NOAO)
  • Alistair Walker (NOAO)
  • Brian Yanny (FNAL)