sci22007 — Announcement

Gemini Science Meeting 2022: Abstracts Due 15 February 2022

January 26, 2022

Submit your abstracts for contributed talks at the Gemini Science Meeting by 15 February 2022! Prospective speakers will be notified in March of the status of their abstracts. Early registration is also now open, and the first 50 students who register will be offered a discounted rate.  

Special planning is being undertaken to mitigate the impacts of COVID at the meeting, and to enable the conference and attendees to quickly pivot to a fully virtual meeting if needed. More information on these strategies can be found on the GSM2022 website. 

GSM22 is planned to be held in Seoul, Korea from 26 to 29 July 2022 to enable the Gemini science community to share their breakthrough science results, and to plan for the bright future ahead as Gemini's instrumentation suite and adaptive optics capabilities undergo a major revitalization. Hosted by the partnership’s newest member, the Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute (KASI), we hope that the much anticipated 2022 Science Meeting (postponed since 2020 owing to the pandemic) will allow the partnership to gather in person once more.

Hashtags for social media: #gsm2022 #geminiobs22 

GSM2022 Confirmed Invited Speakers:

Bruno Dias           Universidad de Tarapacá, Chile

Charles Schambeau    University of Central Florida, US  

Chung-Pei Ma        University of California, Berkeley, US

Denise Gonçalves     Universidade Federal de Rio de Janeiro, BR

Gillian Wilson       University of California Riverside, US

Jake Turner          Cornell University, US

Jean-Rene Roy        Université Laval, CA

Jennifer Winters     Center for Astrophysics, Harvard & Smithsonian, US

Jonelle Walsh        Texas A&M University, US

Kim Venn            University of Victoria, CA

Mansi Kasliwal        California Institute of Technology, US

Megan Mansfield     University of Arizona, US    

Myungkook James Jee  Yonsei University, KR

Narae Hwang         Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute, KR

Stefan Gillessen       Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, DE

Thomas Puzia        Pontificia Universidad Católica, CL

Xiaohui Fan          University of Arizona, US

Young-deuk Park       Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute, KR

About the Announcement