Past Events

September 2021


Friday, 03 September 2021 7 a.m. — 9 a.m. MST, Solar System Workshop

Online event
Community Outreach

Thursday, 02 September 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, Contaminación Luminica y la protección de los Cielos

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 01 September 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, How Fast Is the Universe Expanding and Why Does It Matter?

Online event
How Fast Is the Universe Expanding and Why Does It Matter?

August 2021


Saturday, 28 August 2021 midnight MST - Wednesday, 08 September 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night September 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night September 2021 Campaign

Friday, 27 August 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, WIYN & Mayall Summer Shutdowns

Online event
FLASH Talks

Wednesday, 25 August 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Solar System Workshop

Online event
Community Outreach

Tuesday, 24 August 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Solar System Workshop

Online event
Community Outreach

Monday, 23 August 2021 2 p.m. MST - Thursday, 26 August 2021 6 p.m. MST, Gemini Observatory Science Meeting

Online event
Gemini Observatory Science Meeting

Monday, 09 August 2021 8 a.m. MST - Friday, 13 August 2021 5 p.m. MST, 2021 Rubin Project and Community Workshop

Online event
2021 Rubin Project and Community Workshop

Saturday, 07 August 2021 5:50 p.m. — 6:50 p.m. MST, La Contaminación Luminica y la protección del Cielo

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 04 August 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Opening Your Windows On The Universe

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Opening Your Windows On The Universe

July 2021


Thursday, 29 July 2021 midnight MST - Monday, 09 August 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night August 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night August 2021 Campaign

Wednesday, 28 July 2021 3 p.m. — 4 p.m. MST, Supernovas: de un final estelar y el origen de los elementos

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Supernovas: de un final estelar y el origen de los elementos

Wednesday, 21 July 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Kamaʻāina Connections Program & Community Building

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Kamaʻāina Connections Program & Community Building

Friday, 16 July 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, SATCON2 press conference

Online event
SATCON2 press conference

Wednesday, 14 July 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Information On The Tohono O'odham History And Culture

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Information On The Tohono O'odham History And Culture

Monday, 12 July 2021 9 a.m. MST - Friday, 16 July 2021 9 a.m. MST, SATCON2

Online event
SATCON2

Thursday, 08 July 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. HST, Summer Fun

Hisaoka Gym | Kamehameha Park
Community Outreach
Summer Fun

Wednesday, 07 July 2021 3 p.m. — 4 p.m. MST, Globe at Night: Campaña Mundial para la preservación los cielos oscuros

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Globe at Night: Campaña Mundial para la preservación los cielos oscuros

Wednesday, 07 July 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, Summer Fun

Keeau Armory: Keaau-Pahoa Rd, Keaau, HI 96749
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 07 July 2021 6 a.m. MST - Saturday, 07 August 2021 6 p.m. MST, Hilo Solar System Walk 2021

Liliʻuokalani Park and Gardens
Community Outreach
Hilo Solar System Walk 2021

Thursday, 01 July 2021 12:30 p.m. — 1:30 p.m. HST, Summer Fun

Andrews Gym: 33 W | Kawailani Street, Hilo, HI 96720
Community Outreach
Summer Fun

June 2021


Wednesday, 30 June 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Asteroids, Meteorites and Chondrites: Deciphering the History of the Solar System

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Asteroids, Meteorites and Chondrites: Deciphering the History of the Solar System

Wednesday, 30 June 2021 1:30 p.m. — 2:30 p.m. MST, TMT chat with Boulder REU students

Online event
Community Outreach
TMT chat with Boulder REU students

Wednesday, 30 June 2021 midnight MST - Sunday, 11 July 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night July 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night July 2021 Campaign

Tuesday, 29 June 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. HST, Summer Fun

Waikoloa | Puunui Park
Community Outreach
Summer Fun

Wednesday, 23 June 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Colors of Nature/Colors StudioLab: An Innovative STEAM Program at NOIRLab

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Colors of Nature/Colors StudioLab: An Innovative STEAM Program at NOIRLab

Monday, 21 June 2021 3 p.m. — 4:30 p.m. MST, PISCES Stars Summer Program

Online event
Community Outreach

Monday, 21 June 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, PISCES Stars Summer Program

Online event
Community Outreach
PISCES Stars Summer Program

Monday, 21 June 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, PISCES Stars Program: Virtual Career Panel

Online event
Community Outreach

Saturday, 19 June 2021 8 p.m. — 11:30 p.m. MST, Girl Scouts Virtual Astronomy Camp

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 16 June 2021 1:30 p.m. MST - Thursday, 17 June 2021 4:30 p.m. MST, Akamai Internship Program

UH Hilo
Community Outreach
Akamai Internship Program

Wednesday, 16 June 2021 midnight — 2 a.m. MST, Astrofotografía: Dime lo que miras y te diré qué aprendes

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Astrofotografía: Dime lo que miras y te diré qué aprendes

Friday, 11 June 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Friday, 11 June 2021 11 a.m. — noon MST, San Antonio Teacher Training Astronomy Academy 2021

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 09 June 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, A Conversation with Gemini’s Chief Scientist

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
A Conversation with Gemini’s Chief Scientist

Friday, 04 June 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 02 June 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Strong Gravitational Lenses Discovered in the DESI Legacy Imaging Surveys

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Strong Gravitational Lenses Discovered in the DESI Legacy Imaging Surveys

Tuesday, 01 June 2021 8 a.m. — 9 a.m. MST, Mateada Astronómica

Online event
Astronomy Careers

May 2021


Monday, 31 May 2021 midnight MST - Friday, 11 June 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night June 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night June 2021 Campaign

Friday, 28 May 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Friday, 28 May 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, LfN Hawaii IFA REU

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 26 May 2021 3 p.m. — 4 p.m. MST, Actualización de la norma Lumínica - Protección del Cielo Nocturno para Todo Chile

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Actualización de la norma Lumínica - Protección del Cielo Nocturno para Todo Chile

Thursday, 20 May 2021 2 p.m. — 3:30 p.m. MST, Virtual Visit to U of A for Ha:san Prep Students in MESCIT

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Wednesday, 19 May 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, A Chemically-peculiar Star Found from its Colors

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
A Chemically-peculiar Star Found from its Colors

Friday, 14 May 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 12 May 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Satellite Constellations And The Industrialization Of Space

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Satellite Constellations And The Industrialization Of Space

Friday, 07 May 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Thursday, 06 May 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Big Astronomy Live!

Online event
Community Outreach
Big Astronomy Live!

Wednesday, 05 May 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, Potenciando el desarrollo de la Astronomía internacional desde la Región

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Potenciando el desarrollo de la Astronomía internacional desde la Región

Sunday, 02 May 2021 midnight MST - Thursday, 13 May 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night May 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night May 2021 Campaign

Saturday, 01 May 2021 12:30 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, The Gemini Card Game

Online event
Teen Astronomy Café
The Gemini Card Game

Saturday, 01 May 2021 midnight — 1 a.m. MST, Lei Day Festival

Kalakaua Park
Community Outreach

April 2021


Friday, 30 April 2021 6 a.m. MST - Sunday, 02 May 2021 6 p.m. MST, AstroDay

Prince Kuhio Mall
AstroDay
AstroDay

Thursday, 29 April 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Big Astronomy Live!

Online event
Community Outreach
Big Astronomy Live!

Thursday, 29 April 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 28 April 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, On the Hunt for Terrestrial Exoplanets with MAROON-X

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
On the Hunt for Terrestrial Exoplanets with MAROON-X

Friday, 23 April 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 21 April 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Citizen Science At NOIRLab

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Citizen Science At NOIRLab

Friday, 16 April 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Thursday, 15 April 2021 11 a.m. — noon MST, Big Astronomy Live!

Online event
Community Outreach
Big Astronomy Live!

Wednesday, 14 April 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, Agujeros Negros ¿realidad o ficción?

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Agujeros Negros ¿realidad o ficción?

Wednesday, 07 April 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Creating the 2021 Waimea Solar System Walk

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Creating the 2021 Waimea Solar System Walk

Saturday, 03 April 2021 9:30 a.m. — 10:30 a.m. MST, Hazardous Asteroids

Online event
Teen Astronomy Café
Hazardous Asteroids

Saturday, 03 April 2021 midnight MST - Tuesday, 13 April 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night April 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night

Thursday, 01 April 2021 2 p.m. — 3:15 p.m. MST, NOIRLab Career Panel

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

March 2021


Wednesday, 31 March 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Giant Black Holes And Their Eating Habits

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Giant Black Holes And Their Eating Habits

Wednesday, 24 March 2021 1:25 p.m. — 2:20 p.m. MST, Ha:san Prep Classroom Virtual Classroom Visit

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Wednesday, 24 March 2021 1:25 p.m. — 2:20 p.m. MST, Ha:san Prep Classroom Virtual Classroom Visit

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Wednesday, 24 March 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, Telescopios con ruedas, astronomía en la población

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Telescopios con ruedas, astronomía en la población

Tuesday, 23 March 2021 7 a.m. — 7:30 a.m. MST, Charla el Sistema Solar

Online event
Community Outreach

Friday, 19 March 2021 3:30 p.m. — 4:30 p.m. MST, Conexión con Salas de Control / AstroDay Chile

Online event
AstroDay
Conexión con Salas de Control / AstroDay Chile

Friday, 19 March 2021 2:30 p.m. — 3:30 p.m. MST, Taller de la Luna / AstroDay Chile

Online event
AstroDay
Taller de la Luna / AstroDay Chile

Thursday, 18 March 2021 6:30 p.m. — 7:30 p.m. MST, Charla Vicuña Contaminacion luminica y observacion

Online event
Community Outreach

Thursday, 18 March 2021 4:30 p.m. — 5:30 p.m. MST, Panel de Carreras en Astronomía

Online event
AstroDay

Thursday, 18 March 2021 2 p.m. — 4:30 p.m. MST, Panel de Contribuciones a la Astronomía

Online event
AstroDay
Panel de Contribuciones a la Astronomía

Wednesday, 17 March 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, 35 Years at Cosmic Crossroads

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
35 Years at Cosmic Crossroads

Wednesday, 17 March 2021 2 p.m. — 4 p.m. MST, Taller para operadores de astroturismo

Online event
AstroDay
Taller para operadores de astroturismo

Tuesday, 16 March 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Terricola Notables, acerca de Contaminacion Luminica

Online event
Community Outreach
Terricola Notables, acerca de Contaminacion Luminica

Wednesday, 10 March 2021 5 p.m. — 6:30 p.m. MST, Spacewatch: Do You Know Where Your Asteroids Are?

Online event
Spacewatch: Do You Know Where Your Asteroids Are?

Wednesday, 10 March 2021 1:25 p.m. — 2:20 p.m. MST, Ha:san Prep Classroom Virtual Classroom Visit

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Saturday, 06 March 2021 9:30 a.m. — 11:30 a.m. MST, Breaking the Solar System (and Other Ways Simulations Help Us Understand Our Universe)

Online event
Teen Astronomy Café
Breaking the Solar System (and Other Ways Simulations Help Us Understand Our Universe)

Thursday, 04 March 2021 midnight MST - Sunday, 14 March 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night March 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night

Wednesday, 03 March 2021 10 p.m. — 11:30 p.m. MST, Journey through the Universe Public Talk and Stargazing

Online event
Journey Through the Universe
Journey through the Universe Public Talk and Stargazing

Wednesday, 03 March 2021 1:25 p.m. — 2:20 p.m. MST, Ha:san Prep Classroom Virtual Classroom Visit

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Wednesday, 03 March 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, Workshop Globe at Night campaña Marzo 2021

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Workshop Globe at Night campaña Marzo 2021

Monday, 01 March 2021 midnight — 6 a.m. MST, Journey through the Universe 2021 Chambers of Commerce Welcome Reception

Online event
Journey Through the Universe
Journey through the Universe 2021 Chambers of Commerce Welcome Reception

Monday, 01 March 2021 midnight MST - Friday, 05 March 2021 midnight MST, Journey through the Universe 2021 Classroom Visits

Online event
Journey Through the Universe
Journey through the Universe 2021 Classroom Visits

February 2021


Friday, 26 February 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, Big Astronomy Live!

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 24 February 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Gemini Card Game: A Fun Observatory Life Simulator

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Gemini Card Game: A Fun Observatory Life Simulator

Tuesday, 23 February 2021 10 a.m. — 10:45 a.m. MST, Solar Observing at STEMCon X

Online event
Community Outreach

Tuesday, 23 February 2021 9:15 a.m. — 10 a.m. MST, Project ASTRO Solar Observing With RoadRunner Elementary

Online event
Project ASTRO

Wednesday, 17 February 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Coloring the Universe: How Images are Made with NOIRLab Telescopes

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Coloring the Universe:  How Images are Made with NOIRLab Telescopes

Wednesday, 17 February 2021 6 a.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Ha:san Prep Classroom Virtual Classroom Visit

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Monday, 15 February 2021 11 a.m. — noon MST, Big Astronomy Live!

Online event
Community Outreach

Saturday, 13 February 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Cerro Tololo's History ...

Online event
Community Outreach
Cerro Tololo's History ...

Wednesday, 10 February 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, El telescopio SOAR: historia y perspectivas futuras

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
El telescopio SOAR: historia y perspectivas futuras

Wednesday, 10 February 2021 6 a.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Ha:san Prep Classroom Virtual Classroom Visit

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Saturday, 06 February 2021 11 a.m. — noon MST, Virtual Visit to U of A for Ha:san Prep Students in MESCIT

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Saturday, 06 February 2021 9:30 a.m. — 11:30 a.m. MST, Black Holes and Einstein’s Gravity

Online event
Teen Astronomy Café
Black Holes and Einstein’s Gravity