Events

September 2022


Monday, 12 September 2022 8 a.m. MST - Wednesday, 14 September 2022 4 p.m. MST, DECam—Looking Back, Looking Forward

Tucson, Arizona

August 2022


Tuesday, 02 August 2022 4 p.m. MST - Thursday, 11 August 2022 3 a.m. MST, IAU XXXI General Assembly

Busan Exhibition & Convention Center, 55 APEC-ro, U-dong, Haeundae, Busan, South Korea

February 2022


Monday, 28 February 2022 midnight MST - Friday, 04 March 2022 midnight MST, Journey Through the Universe Week

Journey Through the Universe
Journey Through the Universe Week

January 2022


Sunday, 09 January 2022 8 a.m. MST - Thursday, 13 January 2022 6 p.m. MST, AAS 239

Salt Palace Convention Center, Salt Lake City, UT, USA

December 2021


Friday, 10 December 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, FLASH Talks: Minghao Yue (UofA)

FLASH Talks

Friday, 03 December 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, FLASH Talks: Mukremin Kilic (University of Oklahoma) & Martin Landriau (LBNL)

FLASH Talks

November 2021


Thursday, 25 November 2021 midnight MST - Sunday, 05 December 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night December 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night December 2021 Campaign

Friday, 19 November 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, FLASH Talks: Peter Blanchard (Northwestern) & Marta Bryan (UC Berkeley)

FLASH Talks

Friday, 12 November 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, FLASH Talk: Adam Kawash (Michigan State University) & Zachary Hartman (NOIRLab)

FLASH Talks

Friday, 12 November 2021 8 a.m. — 9 a.m. MST, Taller "¿Se mueve el Sol?"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller "¿Se mueve el Sol?"

Friday, 12 November 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Panel de Carreras en Astronomía

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Panel de Carreras en Astronomía

Friday, 12 November 2021 5:30 a.m. — 6:30 a.m. MST, Taller "Globe at Night: Campaña Mundial para la preservación los cielos oscuros"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller "Globe at Night: Campaña Mundial para la preservación los cielos oscuros"

Thursday, 11 November 2021 8 a.m. — 9 a.m. MST, Taller "El mundo de las constelaciones"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller "El mundo de las constelaciones"

Thursday, 11 November 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Charla "Astronomía & Astrofísica la otra cara de la moneda"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Charla "Astronomía & Astrofísica la otra cara de la moneda"

Thursday, 11 November 2021 5:30 a.m. — 6:30 a.m. MST, Taller "El camino del Sol"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller "El camino del Sol"

Wednesday, 10 November 2021 8 a.m. — 9 a.m. MST, Taller "Conozcamos las capas de la atmósfera terrestre"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller "Conozcamos las capas de la atmósfera terrestre"

Wednesday, 10 November 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Charla "Magnetrones, que son y sus aplicaciones en la astronomía moderna"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Charla "Magnetrones, que son y sus aplicaciones en la astronomía moderna"

Wednesday, 10 November 2021 5:30 a.m. — 6:30 a.m. MST, Taller de Espectroscopia

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller de Espectroscopia

Tuesday, 09 November 2021 8 a.m. — 9 a.m. MST, Taller "El color de las Estrellas"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller "El color de las Estrellas"

Tuesday, 09 November 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Charla "¿Cómo controlar un telescopio y no morir en el intento?"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Charla "¿Cómo controlar un telescopio y no morir en el intento?"

Tuesday, 09 November 2021 5:30 a.m. — 6:30 a.m. MST, Taller "Como unas semillas en el universo"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller "Como unas semillas en el universo"

Monday, 08 November 2021 1:45 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Inauguración Viaje Al Universo y Charla "Expansión del Universo"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Inauguración Viaje Al Universo y Charla "Expansión del Universo"

Monday, 08 November 2021 8 a.m. — 10 a.m. MST, Taller "El color de las Estrellas"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller "El color de las Estrellas"

Monday, 08 November 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Charla "El descubrimiento de un impostor"

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Charla "El descubrimiento de un impostor"

Monday, 08 November 2021 5:30 a.m. — 6:30 a.m. MST, Taller de Espectroscopia

Online event
Viaje al Universo
Taller de Espectroscopia

Monday, 08 November 2021 3 a.m. — 4:30 a.m. MST, “Big Astronomy: People, Places, Discoveries.” Chilean Embassy at Singapore and Science Center of Singapore

Online event
Community Outreach

October 2021


Friday, 29 October 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, FLASH Talks: Adam Burgasser (UCSD) & Griffin Hosseinzadeh (UoA)

FLASH Talks

Wednesday, 27 October 2021 midnight MST - Saturday, 06 November 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night November 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night November 2021 Campaign

Thursday, 21 October 2021 3 p.m. — 3:30 p.m. MST, East Asian Observatory Teacher Workshop

Online event
Community Outreach

Friday, 15 October 2021 6 p.m. — 10 p.m. MST, ʻOhana Kilo Hōkū Teacher Workshop

Online event
Community Outreach

Thursday, 14 October 2021 12:30 p.m. — 1:30 p.m. MST, Astrofotografia- Dime lo que ves y te dire qué aprendes

Online event
Community Outreach
Astrofotografia- Dime lo que ves y te dire qué aprendes

Thursday, 07 October 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Mujeres Estelares

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 06 October 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Nuevos descubrimientos en el Sistema Solar.

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 06 October 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Panel de Carreras en Astronomía

Online event
Community Outreach
Panel de Carreras en Astronomía

Wednesday, 06 October 2021 2 p.m. — 3:30 p.m. MST, Ciencia Ciudadana, astronomía para todos.

Online event
Community Outreach
Ciencia Ciudadana, astronomía para todos.

Tuesday, 05 October 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Últimos descubrimientos extragalácticos de NOIRLab

Online event
Community Outreach
Últimos descubrimientos extragalácticos de NOIRLab

Tuesday, 05 October 2021 6 a.m. — 7 a.m. MST, Nuevos descubrimientos del Sistema Solar, X encuentro de la Ciencias UCN

Online event
Community Outreach
Nuevos descubrimientos del Sistema Solar, X encuentro de la Ciencias UCN

Sunday, 03 October 2021 1 a.m. MST - Thursday, 07 October 2021 9 a.m. MST, Dark and Quiet Skies for Science and Society II

Online event

September 2021


Wednesday, 29 September 2021 11 a.m. — 2 p.m. MST, Día 2: XII Seminario Habla Educador "Nuevos Desafíos para la implementación de estrategias educativas en tiempos de Pandemia

Online event
Community Outreach
Día 2: XII Seminario Habla Educador "Nuevos Desafíos para la implementación de estrategias educativas en tiempos de Pandemia

Monday, 27 September 2021 midnight MST - Thursday, 07 October 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night October 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night October 2021 Campaign

Thursday, 23 September 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Taller fases de la luna y lunas del sistema solar

Online event
Community Outreach

Friday, 03 September 2021 7 a.m. — 9 a.m. MST, Solar System Workshop

Online event
Community Outreach

Thursday, 02 September 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, Contaminación Luminica y la protección de los Cielos

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 01 September 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, How Fast Is the Universe Expanding and Why Does It Matter?

Online event
How Fast Is the Universe Expanding and Why Does It Matter?

August 2021


Saturday, 28 August 2021 midnight MST - Wednesday, 08 September 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night September 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night September 2021 Campaign

Friday, 27 August 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, WIYN & Mayall Summer Shutdowns

Online event
FLASH Talks

Wednesday, 25 August 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Solar System Workshop

Online event
Community Outreach

Tuesday, 24 August 2021 7 a.m. — 8 a.m. MST, Solar System Workshop

Online event
Community Outreach

Monday, 23 August 2021 2 p.m. MST - Thursday, 26 August 2021 6 p.m. MST, Gemini Observatory Science Meeting

Online event
Gemini Observatory Science Meeting

Monday, 09 August 2021 8 a.m. MST - Friday, 13 August 2021 5 p.m. MST, 2021 Rubin Project and Community Workshop

Online event
2021 Rubin Project and Community Workshop

Saturday, 07 August 2021 5:50 p.m. — 6:50 p.m. MST, La Contaminación Luminica y la protección del Cielo

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 04 August 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Opening Your Windows On The Universe

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Opening Your Windows On The Universe

July 2021


Thursday, 29 July 2021 midnight MST - Monday, 09 August 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night August 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night August 2021 Campaign

Wednesday, 28 July 2021 3 p.m. — 4 p.m. MST, Supernovas: de un final estelar y el origen de los elementos

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Supernovas: de un final estelar y el origen de los elementos

Wednesday, 21 July 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Kamaʻāina Connections Program & Community Building

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Kamaʻāina Connections Program & Community Building

Monday, 19 July 2021 9 a.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Colors StudioLab

Arizona Sonoran Desert Museum
Colors StudioLab

Friday, 16 July 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, SATCON2 press conference

Online event
SATCON2 press conference

Wednesday, 14 July 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Information On The Tohono O'odham History And Culture

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Information On The Tohono O'odham History And Culture

Monday, 12 July 2021 9 a.m. MST - Friday, 16 July 2021 9 a.m. MST, SATCON2

Online event
SATCON2

Thursday, 08 July 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. HST, Summer Fun

Hisaoka Gym | Kamehameha Park
Community Outreach
Summer Fun

Wednesday, 07 July 2021 3 p.m. — 4 p.m. MST, Globe at Night: Campaña Mundial para la preservación los cielos oscuros

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Globe at Night: Campaña Mundial para la preservación los cielos oscuros

Wednesday, 07 July 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, Summer Fun

Keeau Armory: Keaau-Pahoa Rd, Keaau, HI 96749
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 07 July 2021 6 a.m. MST - Saturday, 07 August 2021 6 p.m. MST, Hilo Solar System Walk 2021

Liliʻuokalani Park and Gardens
Community Outreach
Hilo Solar System Walk 2021

Thursday, 01 July 2021 12:30 p.m. — 1:30 p.m. HST, Summer Fun

Andrews Gym: 33 W | Kawailani Street, Hilo, HI 96720
Community Outreach
Summer Fun

June 2021


Wednesday, 30 June 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Asteroids, Meteorites and Chondrites: Deciphering the History of the Solar System

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Asteroids, Meteorites and Chondrites: Deciphering the History of the Solar System

Wednesday, 30 June 2021 1:30 p.m. — 2:30 p.m. MST, TMT chat with Boulder REU students

Online event
Community Outreach
TMT chat with Boulder REU students

Wednesday, 30 June 2021 midnight MST - Sunday, 11 July 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night July 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night July 2021 Campaign

Tuesday, 29 June 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. HST, Summer Fun

Waikoloa | Puunui Park
Community Outreach
Summer Fun

Wednesday, 23 June 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Colors of Nature/Colors StudioLab: An Innovative STEAM Program at NOIRLab

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Colors of Nature/Colors StudioLab: An Innovative STEAM Program at NOIRLab

Monday, 21 June 2021 3 p.m. — 4:30 p.m. MST, PISCES Stars Summer Program

Online event
Community Outreach

Monday, 21 June 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, PISCES Stars Summer Program

Online event
Community Outreach
PISCES Stars Summer Program

Monday, 21 June 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, PISCES Stars Program: Virtual Career Panel

Online event
Community Outreach

Saturday, 19 June 2021 8 p.m. — 11:30 p.m. MST, Girl Scouts Virtual Astronomy Camp

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 16 June 2021 1:30 p.m. MST - Thursday, 17 June 2021 4:30 p.m. MST, Akamai Internship Program

UH Hilo
Community Outreach
Akamai Internship Program

Wednesday, 16 June 2021 midnight — 2 a.m. MST, Astrofotografía: Dime lo que miras y te diré qué aprendes

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Astrofotografía: Dime lo que miras y te diré qué aprendes

Friday, 11 June 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Friday, 11 June 2021 11 a.m. — noon MST, San Antonio Teacher Training Astronomy Academy 2021

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 09 June 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, A Conversation with Gemini’s Chief Scientist

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
A Conversation with Gemini’s Chief Scientist

Friday, 04 June 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 02 June 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Strong Gravitational Lenses Discovered in the DESI Legacy Imaging Surveys

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Strong Gravitational Lenses Discovered in the DESI Legacy Imaging Surveys

Tuesday, 01 June 2021 8 a.m. — 9 a.m. MST, Mateada Astronómica

Online event
Astronomy Careers

May 2021


Monday, 31 May 2021 midnight MST - Friday, 11 June 2021 midnight MST, Globe at Night June 2021 Campaign

Online event
Globe at Night
Globe at Night June 2021 Campaign

Friday, 28 May 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Friday, 28 May 2021 noon — 1 p.m. MST, LfN Hawaii IFA REU

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 26 May 2021 3 p.m. — 4 p.m. MST, Actualización de la norma Lumínica - Protección del Cielo Nocturno para Todo Chile

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Actualización de la norma Lumínica - Protección del Cielo Nocturno para Todo Chile

Thursday, 20 May 2021 2 p.m. — 3:30 p.m. MST, Virtual Visit to U of A for Ha:san Prep Students in MESCIT

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Wednesday, 19 May 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, A Chemically-peculiar Star Found from its Colors

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
A Chemically-peculiar Star Found from its Colors

Friday, 14 May 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 12 May 2021 5 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Satellite Constellations And The Industrialization Of Space

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Satellite Constellations And The Industrialization Of Space

Friday, 07 May 2021 4 p.m. — 6 p.m. MST, Capacitacion Operadores Turisticos Salamanca

Online event
Community Outreach

Thursday, 06 May 2021 2 p.m. — 3 p.m. MST, Big Astronomy Live!

Online event
Community Outreach
Big Astronomy Live!

Wednesday, 05 May 2021 1 p.m. — 2 p.m. MST, Potenciando el desarrollo de la Astronomía internacional desde la Región

Online event
Live from NOIRLab
Potenciando el desarrollo de la Astronomía internacional desde la Región