Past Local Community Events

January 2021


Thursday, 21 January 2021 — 5 p.m. MST, Astronomy Educator Workshop

Online event
Journey Through the Universe

Friday, 15 January 2021 — 11 a.m. MST, Big Astronomy Live!

Online event
Community Outreach

December 2020


Wednesday, 16 December 2020 — 6 a.m. MST, Seminario “El Astroturismo se vive en la región de Coquimbo”

Online event
Community Outreach

Monday, 14 December 2020 — midnight MST, Live Eclipse at Nueva Imperial

Online event
Community Outreach

November 2020


Monday, 23 November 2020 — 3:30 p.m. MST, Live stargazing training on Use of Telescopes for Rural Communities of La Serena (Astrotourism)

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Saturday, 21 November 2020 — 5 p.m. MST, Girl Scouts of Hawaiʻi STEM Festival

Online event
Community Outreach

October 2020


Tuesday, 13 October 2020 — 7 a.m. MST, Descubriendo el Universo desde Vicuña: El rol de AURA/NOIRLab en la astronomía mundial.

Online event
Community Outreach

Monday, 12 October 2020 — 6 p.m. MST, Live Stargazing Comunidades Sustentables Vicuna

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

September 2020


Monday, 07 September 2020 — 8:30 p.m. MST, Live Stargazing Comunidades Sustentables Canela

Online event
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

August 2020


Tuesday, 25 August 2020 — 3 p.m. MST, Maunakea and Hawaiian Culture

Online event
Community Outreach

Saturday, 15 August 2020 — 1 p.m. MST, Observatory Careers Q&A and Honua & Mahina to Scale

Online event
Under Dark Skies

May 2020


Tuesday, 12 May 2020 — 3 p.m. MST, Eclipse 2020 Training Talk

Online event
Under Dark Skies

Friday, 08 May 2020 — 2:30 p.m. MST, Planispheres

Online event
Science@Home

Friday, 01 May 2020 — 2:30 p.m. MST, Gravitational Lensing

Online event
Science@Home

April 2020


Friday, 24 April 2020 — 2:30 p.m. MST, Phases of the Moon

Online event
Science@Home

Thursday, 09 April 2020 — 2:30 p.m. MST, Dark Skies

Online event
Science@Home

Friday, 03 April 2020 — 2:30 p.m. MST, Scale of the Solar System

Online event
Science@Home

March 2020


Wednesday, 04 March 2020 — 8 p.m. MST, Public Talk: Moon to Mars Missions

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Journey Through the Universe

Monday, 02 March 2020 — 8 p.m. MST, Journey Through the Universe Astronomy Educator Reception

Hilo Yacht Club
Journey Through the Universe

February 2020


Wednesday, 26 February 2020 — 6:30 p.m. MST, TOCC Star Party

Tohono O'odham Community College | Arizona Highway 86, Milepost 125.5 N. Sells, AZ
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Thursday, 20 February 2020 — 6 p.m. MST, Stargazing at Expo Choapa 2020

Salamanca
Community Outreach

Monday, 03 February 2020 — 11:30 a.m. MST, Tohono O'odham Education Summit

Baboquivari High School | Indian Route 19 Mile Marker 19.5, Sells, AZ 85634
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

January 2020


Friday, 31 January 2020 — 10 a.m. MST, Tohono O'odham Rodeo and Fair

Sells Rodeo Grounds Sells, AZ

Saturday, 25 January 2020 — 5:30 p.m. MST, Ellison Onizuka Day

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Community Outreach

Thursday, 23 January 2020 — 10 a.m. MST, TOCC Career Fair

Tohono O'odham Community College | Arizona Highway 86, Milepost 125.5 N. Sells, AZ
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Sunday, 19 January 2020 — 5 p.m. MST, Cholla High School Star Party

Cholla High School. Starpass Rd. Tucson, AZ

Tuesday, 07 January 2020 — 9 a.m. MST, AAS Exhibit Hall Student Visit

Hawai'i Convention Center | 1801 Kalakaua Ave., Honolulu, HI 96815

December 2019


Thursday, 12 December 2019 — 6 a.m. MST, ʻImiloa Holiday Party

600 Imiloa Pl, Hilo, HI 96720, USA
Community Outreach

Thursday, 12 December 2019 — 6 a.m. MST, StarLab Visit to local Girl Scout Troop

Waiakea Eelementary School Hilo, Hawai'i
Community Outreach

November 2019


Thursday, 21 November 2019 — 11:20 p.m. MST, Ha:san Tas

Ha:san Preparatory & Leadership School | 1333 E 10th St. Tucson, AZ 85719
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Tuesday, 19 November 2019 — 5:30 p.m. MST, Science Night

Helen Keeling Elementary | 2837 N Los Altos Ave Tucson, AZ 85705

Thursday, 14 November 2019 — 9 a.m. MST, Native American Day

Baboquivrai Elementary School Sells, AZ
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Monday, 11 November 2019 — 6 a.m. MST, Mercury Transit at Subaru Telescope

650 N Aohoku Pl, Hilo, HI 96720
Community Outreach

Monday, 11 November 2019 — 6 a.m. MST, AstroDay West

Kona, Hawai'i
AstroDay

Sunday, 10 November 2019 — 4 p.m. MST, Mercury Transit

Kitt Peak National Observatory

October 2019


Thursday, 31 October 2019 — 6 a.m. MST, KTA Haunted House

50 E Puainako St, Hilo, HI 96720
Community Outreach

Sunday, 27 October 2019 — 6 a.m. MST, Hawaiʻi Explorations Expo (HEʻE)

Hilo, Hawai'i
Community Outreach

Saturday, 26 October 2019 — 6 a.m. MST, Solar System Walk

Waimea, Hawai'i
Community Outreach

Friday, 25 October 2019 — 6 a.m. MST, Night at the Museum

600 Imiloa Pl, Hilo, HI 96720, USA
Community Outreach

Wednesday, 09 October 2019 — 11 a.m. MST, Ha:san Unity & Leadership Camp 2019

Ha:san Preparatory & Leadership School | 1333 E 10th St. Tucson, AZ 85719
Tohono Oʼodham Engagement

Tuesday, 01 October 2019 — 10 a.m. MST, Talk at Seminario Astroturismo Vicuña

Vicuña
Under Dark Skies