geminiann08026 — Anuncio

KYOTO 2009

23 Diciembre 2008

The Subaru and Gemini Observatories are pleased to announce a jointly sponsored science meeting that will be held at Kyoto University, Kyoto Japan, between May 18-21, 2009. An estimated two-hundred and fifty participants, approximately half coming from each community, will meet to present research conducted at the two observatories and to explore possible collaborations.

The two main goals of the conference are to promote a mutual understanding of both communities and to highlight the international nature of modern astronomy. Other goals are to:

  • Better understand the Subaru and Gemini instruments and science programs
  • Foster scientific collaborations
  • Define key areas of 'niche science' for both observatories
  • Initiate scientific collaboration for, and with respect to, the International Year of Astronomy in 2009

The Scientific and Local Organizing Committees have recently been appointed. The SOC is led by two co-chairs Masashi Chiba (Tohoku University) and Timothy C. Beers (Michigan State University). The LOC is chaired by Kouji Ohta (Kyoto University).

In addition to the joint science meeting, a Gemini Users Meeting will be held on May 22 at the same venue.

Further announcements regarding the details of registration, travel and accommodations will be made in the near future. For more information, please contact Jean-René Roy (jrroy at or SOC Co-Chairs Masashi Chiba (chiba at and Timothy Beers (beers at

Click HERE for the conference web site where general information and instructions for registration are available.

Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC)

Masashi Chiba (Tohoku University) Co-CHAIR
Toru Yamada (Tohoku University)
Motohide Tamura (NAOJ)
Kazuhiro Shimasaku (University of Tokyo)
Yoshiko Okamoto (Ibaraki University)
Kouji Ohta (Kyoto University)
Timothy C. Beers (Michigan State University) Co-CHAIR
Isobel Hook (Oxford University)
Chris Packham (University of Florida)
Scott Croom (Sydney University)
Marcin Sawicki (St Mary's University)

Local Organizing Committee (LOC)

Kouji Ohta (Kyoto University) CHAIR
Hajime Sugai (Kyoto University)
Tomonori Totani (Kyoto University)
Hideko Nomura (Kyoto University)
Atsuko Nitta (Gemini Observatory)

About the Announcement



Kinkaku-ji temple and The train station in Kyoto
Kinkaku-ji temple and The train station in Kyoto
KYOTO 2009: The Joint Subaru-Gemini Science Conference
KYOTO 2009: The Joint Subaru-Gemini Science Conference